Oliver Coates - Aftersun OST

Skip to product information
1 of 1
Regular price £27.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £27.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Media Condition:  Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)

Cellist, composer and electronic music producer, Oliver Coates’ score for Aftersun, directed by Charlotte Wells and starring Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio, is out now via Invada / Lakeshore. The score, lighter and more delicate than Oliver Coates’ previously released music, functions as shadows or half-glimpses, a glowing form of ambient music which adds emotional colour to the cinematography.  Aftersun features ‘One Without’, the much talked about piece of music used in the final scene and credits – the one that audiences have been known to sit in silence through the credits for. ‘One Without’ was made away from the film after the composer’s first meeting with Charlotte Wells, the director. On it, the strings are reversed and sped up a little, Each harmony has the next chord bleeding into it because of the reversed tails. The string vibrato is slightly unreal because the playback is faster and Coates explains that the “whole score is derived from the music within this final piece.”

1 - Memory Opening
2 - One Without
3 - Bus
5 - Swimming Pool - Sky
6 - Boat
7 - Ocean>rave
8 - Gliders Peace of Mind
9 - Tai Chi
10 - Sophie Pool With the Guys
11 - Night
12 - Limit
13 - Happy Birthday Sophie
14 - Last Dance (Score)

View full details