Sufjan Stevens - Michigan

Skip to product information
1 of 1
Regular price $30.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $30.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Media Condition:  Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)

Embark on a musical pilgrimage through the heartland with Sufjan Stevens' "Michigan," a seminal album that immerses listeners in a rich tapestry of folk-infused storytelling. Originally released in 2003 as part of Stevens' ambitious 50 States project, "Michigan" stands as a poetic ode to the Great Lakes State. The album's expansive soundscapes, characterised by intricate arrangements and Stevens' emotive vocals, paint a vivid portrait of the landscape and the people that inhabit it. Tracks like "Flint (For the Unemployed and Underpaid)" and "Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head!" showcase Stevens' ability to weave together intricate melodies and profound lyricism, creating a deeply resonant and introspective experience. A timeless journey through Americana, this reissue invites both dedicated fans and new audiences to rediscover the beauty and depth of "Michigan," reaffirming its status as a cornerstone in Sufjan Stevens' illustrious catalogue.


1 Flint (For the Unemployed and Underpaid)
2 All the Good Naysayers, Speak Up!
3 For the Widows in Paradise, for the Fatherless in Ypsilanti
4 Say Yes! To Michigan!
5 The Upper Peninsula
6 Tahquamenon Falls
7 Holland
8 Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head! (Rebuild! Restore! Reconsider!)
9 Romulus
10 Alanson, Crooked River
11 Sleeping Bear, Sault Saint Marie
12 They Also Mourn Who Do Not Wear Black (For the Homeless in Muskegan)
13 Oh God, Where Are You Now? (In Pickerel Lake? Pigeon? Marquette? Mackinaw?)
14 Redford (For Yia - yia and Pappou)
15 Vito's Ordination Song
16 Marching Band
17 Pickerel Lake
18 Niagara Falls
19 Presidents & Magistrates
20 Wolverine
View full details